Fact Check

CJN swears-in Wike’s Wife, 21 others as Appeal Court judges

cropped cropped cropped firstnews 6 1

Today marked a significant milestone in Nigeria’s judiciary as Chief Justice Of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, administered the oath of office to 22 newly appointed Justices of the Court of Appeal.

The ceremony, held at the Main Courtroom of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, also included the swearing-in of 11 judges for the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory.

Among the newly appointed Appeal Court justices was Justice Eberechi Wike, the wife of Nyesom Wike, the former Governor of Rivers State and current Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by dignitaries including Governors Seyi Makinde of Oyo State and Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State, underscoring the importance of the occasion in Nigeria’s legal and governance spheres.

The appointment of these justices is expected to strengthen the capacity of the Court of Appeal in handling complex legal matters and ensuring justice delivery across the country.

The new Justices are Abdullahi Muhammad Liman from Nasarawa State; Abiodun Azeem Akinyemi from Ogun State; Olukayode Adegbola Adeniyi from Oyo State; Zainab Bage Abubakar from Kebbi State; Isaq Mohammed Sani from Kaduna State; Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo from Lagos State; and Ngozika U. Okaisabor from Imo State respectively.

Others are Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola from Kogi State; Polycarp Terna Kwahar from Benue State; Fadawa Umaru from Borno State; Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola from Oyo State; Ntong Festus Ntong from Akwa Ibom State; Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi from Edo State; and Nnamdi Okwy Dimgba from Abia State.

The rest are Abdu Dogo from Federal Capital Territory, Abuja; Abdulazeez M. Anka from Zamfara State; Owibunkeonye Onwosi from Ebonyi State; Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf from Kwara State; Victoria Toochukwu Nwoye from Anambra State; and Enenche Eleojo from Kogi State.