UPDATED: Cross River Lawmakers Impeach Speaker, Ayambem, For ‘Misappropriation’

Cross RIver Speaker

Members of the Cross River State House of Assembly have impeached the Speaker, Elvert Ayambem.

The impeachment motion was moved by Effiom Ekarika, representing Calabar South 1 Constituency, and seconded by Omang Charles Omang, representing Bekwarra State Constituency on Wednesday.

Ayambem represents Ikom 2 State Constituency and was elected Speaker of the 10th Cross River State House of Assembly in June 2023.

The impeachment notice was signed by 17 members of the 25-member House.

The lawmakers accused Ayambem of misappropriating N48 million meant for the payment of electricity bills of the assembly complex and quarters.

The lawmakers also alleged that he misappropriated 2 percent of all revenue collected by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) monthly to the tune of N404 million.

The impeachment notice reads, “Misappropriation of the sum of N19,437, 844.00 (Nineteen Million, Four Hundred and Thirty-Seven Thousand, Eight Hundred and forty-five Naira) from Local Government deduction and 11 months deductions which he allegedly failed to disclose to members,” the impeachment notice reads.

“Incompetence and wrong conduct of plenary proceedings: Un-parliamentary way of conducting proceedings.

“Appointment of members to move or second motions rather than allowing interested members to raise their hands.

“Non-compliance with the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.

“Arbitrary approval of expenditure in flagrant breach of the provisions of Section 9(1) of the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.

“Approvals beyond the limit which the Speaker can approve contrary to Section 9(10) of the Cross River State Legislature Funds Management Law 2021.”

The lawmakers who signed the impeachment notice are Kingsley Ntui, Okon Owuna, Samuel Neji Abang, Cyril James Omini, Stanley Nsemo, Charles Omang Omang, Thomas Aruku, Eyo Bassey, Bassey Bassey Effiong, Francis Onete Ogban, Victor Nsa, Ovat Agbor, Pius Ashas Ashakia, Martins Achadu, Effiong Ekarika, Egbe Abeng Egbe, and Hilary Bisong.