Edo attack: Three more dead, four injured

Three more people have been confirmed dead on Friday during an attack carried out by gunmen on Okhunmwun Community in Ovia North-East local government area.

Earlier, no fewer than three members of the Edo State Security Network were reported killed during the attack by assailants on Thursday.

Sunday PUNCH learned that the assailants shot and wounded several others including a retired military officer, Peter Omorogbe while the head of the tactical team of ESSN, one Osarenren (known as commander Small Baba) is still recovering from the gunshot wound he suffered during the attack.

The police gave the identities of the casualties as Endurance Ehioretin, Victor Uwaifo, and one D.D. (ESSN operative). Community members who lost their lives in the attack were Osas Orobor, Sada Haruna, and Wada Hilia.

A former Vice Chairman of the Okhunmwun Community, Mr Aigbedion Ifa, said he contacted soldiers when he was notified of the attack and they saw Osarenren who had been attacked.

“We rushed him and others who were wounded to the University of Benin Teaching Hospital. The five dead who were initially accounted for were deposited in the mortuary. I later learnt that my own blood brother Osas Orobor, was also killed,” Ifa added.

Confirming the killings, the Public Relations Officer for Edo State Police Command, Chidi Nwabuzor, said one Charles Aghedo, a prison escapee reportedly led others to attack the community over a leadership tussle.

He added, “The Okaighele of Okhunmwun Community one Louis Ulamen, reported the incident at Ekiadolor Police Division along Benin-Lagos Expressway.

“He identified some persons who have been troubling the community and have vowed to take over the leadership and control of the community by force.”

Nwabuzor, further said that on the receipt of the information, police in Ekiadolor moved into the community where six fatalities were evacuated and several weapons were recovered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button