Delta Speaker gets national assignment

From Paul Osuyi, Asaba

The Speaker of Delta State House of Assembly, Mr. Emomotimi Dennis Guwor has been elected treasurer, Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria for the next two years.

Guwor was elected in Abuja alongside other officers of the legislative body.

Speaker, Oyo State House of Assembly, Ogundoyin Adebo emerged chairman, while Speaker, Kastina State Assembly, Nasir Yahaya was returned deputy chairman. Abdulkarim Lawan of Borno State Assembly, emerged as the financial secretary.

Other officers include Mohammed Abubbakar of Gombe State Assembly, to represent North-East; Haruna Aliyu of Jigawa (North-West); Aondona Dajoh of Benue (North-Central); Adeoye Aribasoye of Ekiti (South-West); Uche Ugwu of Enugu (South-East); and Abraham Ingobere of Bayelsa (South-South).

In his reaction, Guwor expressed gratitude to God for providing him the enablement including good health, that qualified him for the contest.

Guwor paid glowing tributes to speakers of other 35 states’ Houses of Assembly for embracing his nomination for the position of treasurer and promised not to betray the confidence reposed in him.

He also thanked the Governor of Delta State, Sheriff Oborevrwori and members of the Delta State House of Assembly, for their support and encouragement.

Guwor assured that he would remain a good ambassador of Delta State and a bridge between the young and old as well as a shining example to public office holders.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button