Ibrahim Kabir of PDP wins Jigawa House of Assembly seat

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party PDP Ibrahim Kabir, winner of the Jigawa State House of Assembly supplementary election for the Birnin-Kudu constituency.

INEC returning officer, Professor Usman Haruna stated that Ibrahim Kabir having scored the highest number of votes is returned elected.

He said Ibrahim Kabir of PDP scored 36,050 votes to defeat his opponents Muhd Suraja of APC who scored -34,545 votes and Suleiman Abdullahi Abubakar of NNPP who scored 722 votes.

He said, ” I the returning officer for the Birnin Kudu, State Constituency election, held on April 15, 2023, hereby certify that Ibrahim Kabir, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”

INEC also declared the APC candidate for Dutse Local Government State House of Assembly election, Tasiu Soja, winner of the Saturday supplementary election.

Tasiu Ishaq of APC scored 31,311, Umar Nura Isah of NNPP scored 792 votes and Adamu Alhaji Musa Zai of PDP scored 28,656 votes.

For the Yankwashi state House of Assembly constituency, Muhd Ado Zoto of APC won with 9,479 votes to defeat Haruna Babangida Abubakar of NNPP, who scored 300 votes and Abdullahi Karkarna Musa of PDP with 5,606 votes.

The State Assembly supplementary election in Jigawa State was conducted in nineteen polling units. Dutse Local Government has seven polling units, Birnin Kudu Local Government six, and Yankwashi six, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button