Kwara speaker wins Ilesha-Gwanara Constituency for second term

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Yakubu Danladi-Salihu, the speaker of the Kwara House of Assembly, as the winner of the Ilesha-Gwanara State Constituency.

The Returning Officer, Adewale Rafiu, while announcing the results, said Danladi-Salihu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 14, 949 votes, while his closest rival, Usman Abubakar of PDP got 2,072 votes.

“Yakubu Danladi-Salihu of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” Mr Rafiu declared.

In his acceptance speech, Mr Danladi-Salihu lauded his constituents for their massive support, which led to his victory, assuring them that he would continue to prioritise their welfare.

Similarly, Magaji Oba Abdulkadir of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of the House of Assembly election, representing Magaji Ngeri Constituency in Ilorin Central.

Mr Abdulkadir was declared winner of the contest by INEC Returning Officer, Bernard Enaibe, having polled the highest votes of 14,080 to defeat his closest rival, Abdullah Sodiq of the Peoples Democracy Party (PDP), who scored 10,127.

Bayero Yahaya of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) came far third in the contest with votes of 1,257, while a candidate of the Labour Party (LP) secured 259 votes to clinch fourth position in the election.

Mr Magaji expressed his profound gratitude to Gov. Abdulrahman AbdulRazaq for allowing him to represent his people.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button