Election: Plateau Speaker, Majority Leader lose seats to PDP candidates

The Speaker, Plateau State House of Assembly, Mr Yakubu Sanda and the Majority Leader, Mr Daniel Nanlong, both of All Progressives Congress (APC) have lost their seats to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates.

Sanda, who represents Pengana State Constituency, was defeated by Mrs Happiness Akawu of PDP in the House of Assembly election held on March 18.

The Returning Officer who announced the result said that Akawu polled 9,926 to defeat Sanda, who got 7,936 votes.

According to the result, Mr Faisal Maitala of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) scored 6,721 votes to finish third.

“Mrs Happiness Akawu, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes cast, is hereby declared winner of the election and returned elected,” he declared.

Meanwhile, Nanlong, a two-term member representing Mikang State Constituency, also lost his re-election bid to Mr Moses Sule of PDP.

According to the result announced by Mikang Constituency Returning Officer, Prof. Umaru Takum, Sule scored 12,880 to defeat the current occupant, who got 9,848.

Takum said, “having fulfill the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, Moses Sule of PDP is hereby declared winner and is returned elected.”

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the PDP won most of the 24 state constituencies declared by INEC.

According to the results, PDP will likely be in most of the 10th Plateau State House of Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button